Board of Directors Nominee Announcement

The date for receiving member applications for nomination consideration to the CBCFCU Board of Directors closed on February 1, 2018. The Nominating Committee has determined that the following candidates are qualified and eligible for installation to the Board of Directors: Robert Cabral; Kevin Carey; Jeff Sourwine. Since there is a qualified candidate to fill each Board vacancy for the upcoming term, no nomination from the floor will be permitted during the Annual Meeting. However, if a member wishes to be considered at this time, then a Petition must be effected and submitted to the Credit Union. The deadline for receipt of a Petition for consideration as an additional Director Nominee is May 1, 2018. Please contact Alvin Espiritu, the Nominating Committee Chair, by e-mail at for Petition requirements information and form. If there are no additional qualified candidates from a Petition process, there will not be an election and the Slate of Candidates as stated above will be installed by general consent at the Annual Member Meeting scheduled for June 21,2018, 5:00 p.m., at the CBC FCU Oxnard Office.                   

Nominee Biographies

3 Year Term from June 2018 to June 2021

ROBERT CABRAL:  Mr. Cabral is a tenured faculty member at Oxnard College where he teaches courses in Business and Accounting. He has lectured in Accounting at CSU Channel Islands at the Martin V. Smith School of Business & Economics. Mr. Cabral’s academic leadership includes Academic Senate President and statewide positions. In 2013, the National Community College Hispanic Council recognized him as a National Fellow. In 2014, Mr. Cabral received a Fellowship with CSUCI, which focused on cross-institutional alignment. Mr. Cabral has held leadership positions for over 20 years on banking and finance management with Citibank, Wells Fargo and Pacific Capital Bancorp. He currently serves as the Treasurer for CBC Federal Credit Union and chairs the Financial Governance Committee. Mr. Cabral is a Rotarian and former Chairman of the Board for the Conejo Valley Chamber of Commerce. In 2006, he was recognized and awarded “Business Man of the Year” from the Conejo Valley Chamber of Commerce. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in Economics at UC Sta. Barbara, a Masters in Organizational Management from Antioch University and a Master of Science in Accounting from Walden University. He earned the professional credential of Certified Project Manager from Stanford University.

KEVIN CAREY:  Mr. Carey is a retired U.S. Naval Officer with 26 years of service in numerous fleet and staff assignments, including Executive Officer of USS JARRETT (FFG-33) and as Chief Staff Officer and Department Officer at the Naval Surface Warfare Center Pt. Hueneme Division (NSWC PHD). Mr. Carey has extensive experience with Navy shipboard weapon systems, testing, evaluation and engineering management. After retiring from the Navy, he joined SYS Technologies which was later merged with Kratos Defense and Security Solutions. He held a Sr. Management Analyst position supporting the Director, Office of Corporate Business at NSWC PHD until retiring in 2011. He holds a B.S. in Economics and a Master of Marine Affairs (MMA) Degree from the University of Rhode Island.

JEFF SOURWINE:  Mr. Sourwine is a Division Manager for the Littoral & Strike Warfare Department of the Naval Surface Warfare Center, Pt. Hueneme Division (NSWC PHD) with over 25 years of experience in fleet modernization and shipboard systems. Prior to serving as the Division Manager, he was a branch manager in the Vertical Launching Systems Modernization branch. Mr. Sourwine is active in several organizations including Senior Leaders and managers Association and the Boy Scouts of America as a Merit Badge Counselor. He also served as the Command Executive for the Combined Federal Campaign Chairman. Mr. Sourwine earned a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Iowa and an MBA from California Lutheran University.

Published Date: 
Tuesday, March 20, 2018